LFA Committees

LFA contractual committees:

  • Joint Labour Management Committee
    As per section 27 of the Collective Agreement, the JLMC brings union and management representatives together to improve Langara's labour relations environment. Meets to problem-solve, to promote good relations between Management and the Union, and to correct conditions that may cause grievances and misunderstanding.
    LFA members: Scott McLean, Darrell Kean, Alison Curtis, Janet Douglas, Tanya Lewis.
    Meetings: monthly except in summer
  • Joint Committee on Continuing Studies
    As per section 24 of the Collective Agreement, the JCCS brings union and management together to monitor and review the direction of CS courses, programs and activities.
    Members: The Dean of Coninuing Studies, two Academic Administrators, and three LFA members including a lead Division Chair: Alison Curtis, Darrell Kean/Scott McLean, Tess MacMillan.
    Meetings: Once per semester and additionally as needed.
  • Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee
    See the Langara website for Terms of Reference and further information
    LFA reps: Mark Smith (Co-Chair), Milos Campbell, Paul Prosperi
    Meetings: Monthly
  • Joint Technology Committee
    As per LOU #5 of the Collective Agreement, the JTC meets to canvas faculty about their technology needs and on the basis of their findings, to work to meet those needs over the coming year. The first annual online survey was  carried out in fall 2017. The JTC is co-chaired by the LFA Vice President and the College VP responsible for IT, or delegate, and has equal numbers of LFA and College representatives.
    LFA members: Alison Curtis (Co-Chair), Scott McLean, Ryan Vernon.
    College members: Justin Yau (Co-Chair), Geoff Hewson.
    Meets: As needed.

Other LFA committees:

  • Bargaining Team
    Scott McLean, Darrell Kean, Janet Douglas, Alison Curtis. Darrell is also the LFA rep on the FPSE Bargaining Coordination Committee (BCC).
  • Contract Maintenance
    Darrell Kean (Chair/Chief Steward), Alison Curtis, Janet Douglas, Tanya Lewis. Darrell is also the LFA rep on the FPSE Contract Administration Review Committee (CARC).
  • Educational Leave Committee
    As per section 23 in the Collective Agreement, the ELC meets to review and make recommendations regarding educational leave applications.
    LFA reps: Alison Curtis (Co-Chair). One additional faculty member appointed annually in Nov/Dec, from an area outside the Division(s) of that year's applicant(s).
  • Human Rights & International Solidarity Committee (HRISC)
    Organizes events and activities, including Langara hosting of annual FPSE Environmental Speakers Tour.
    Bradley Hughes (Chair), KC Emerson, Robin Macqueen, Stephen Phillips. Bradley is also the LFA rep on the FPSE HRISC.
  • LFA-VCC Joint Benefits Committee [Defunct]
    A joint committee with Vancouver Community College that oversaw the management of the benefits plans (Basic Life, Voluntary Life, Accidental Death and Dismemberment, Short & Long Term Disability, Extended Health and Dental). Defunct since 2017 when Langara College and VCC moved to separate benefit plans.
    LFA reps: Scott McLean, Darrell Kean
    Meetings: Once a year
    The FPSE Disability Management & Rehabilitation Committee (DMRC) meets to discuss joint benefits trust plans of which most FPSE locals are members (but not VCC and Langara). Tanya Lewis is the LFA rep.
  • Web & Communications
    Maintains the LFA website, Facebook and Twitter pages.
    Alison Curtis, Brian Koehler, Tanya Lewis.
  • Non-Regular Faculty Committee (NRFC)
    Organizes events and activities to raise awareness about the casualization of academic work, including CAUT Fair Employment Week in October.
    Niall Christie (Chair), Stephen Phillips. Niall is also the LFA rep to the FPSE NRFC.

See also: FPSE Standing Committees