FPSE 2019 Speaker Series – Whose Land is it Anyway? March 21

Whose land is it anyway? image of book cover

Russell Diabo, one of the contributing authors of Whose Land is it Anyway? A Manual for Decolonization will be on campus on Thursday, March 21st at 4:30 pm in room T530 to do a reading from the book as a part of the Federation of Secondary Educators of BC speakers tour. He will present on the Indian Act, the Decolonization Handbook as an educational tool, a review of the Trudeau government’s record (2015-2019) on Indigenous Peoples’ rights and the need for Indigenous communities and Nations to develop self-determination plans to implement the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

This event is organized by the LFA Human Rights and International Solidarity Committee (HRISC) in collaboration with Langara Indigenous Education and Services.

Thursday, March 21
4:30 pm, Room T530

Bradley Hughes, Chair, LFA HRISC
bhughes@langara.ca

Langara Faculty Association - Important Dates for 2019

LFA Board Elections

President
Nominations  March 4 (Mon) to March 8 (Fri)
Campaign Notes Due March 13 (Wed)
Ballots out March 18 (Mon)
Ballots in by 3:30 p.m. March 22 (Fri), Counted: March 22.

Vice-President
Nominations March 25 (Mon) – March 29 (Fri)
Campaign Notes Due April 3 (Wed)
Ballots out April 8 (Mon)
Ballots in by 3:30 p.m. April 12 (Fri), Counted: April 12

Board Members
Nominations April 8 (Mon) - April 12 (Fri)
Campaign Notes Due April 17 (Wed)
Ballots out April 23 (Tues)
Ballots in by 3:30 p.m. April 29 (Mon), Counted: April 29

Annual General Meeting & Retiree Social

AGM - Thursday, May 9, 2019 at 1:00 p.m. (Room TBA)

Retiree Social – Thursday, May 9, 2019 at 2:30 p.m. in the Employee Lounge
Presentations start at 2:45 p.m

 

LFA is now a certified Living Wage Employer

living wage employer

We're happy to announce that the Langara Faculty Association has become a certified Living Wage Employer. The living wage is the hourly rate that a family needs to cover basic expenses, calculated regionally and updated annually.

The LFA is joining the ranks of over 140 living wage employers across BC, the province with the highest rate of working poverty in Canada. For more information, see the Living Wage for Families Campaign website.