LFA Fall Retiree Social

The LFA is hosting a Fall Retiree Social on Thursday, September 24, 2015 at 2:00p.m. in the Employee Lounge. So far the following retired faculty members have confirmed their attendance at the Social:

  •  Eric Ball (English)
  • Ramon Kubicek (English)
  • John Webb (English)
  • Diane Bradley (Modern Languages)
  • Peter Prontzos (Political Science)

All faculty and staff are invited. Beverages and hors d'oeuvres will be served.

Thursday, September 24, 2015 - 14:00 to 16:00

On May 4th, watch the debate to restore ABE in BC

BC can afford to invest in education, but won't. Take action at Openthe Doors.caOn Monday, May 4th, Kathy Corrigan, MLA for Burnaby-Deer Lake, will call for a debate to restore funding to Adult Basic Education (ABE) in BC. On December 4th, 2014 the government abruptly cancelled most funding for ABE and removed its mandate to be tuition-free.

FPSE's Open the Doors campaign is encouraging locals and the general public to watch the debate live on Monday at 11:00am. It's a unique chance to be part of the legislative process and be recognized by the Official Opposition Deputy Chair and spokesperson for Advanced Education as she debates the motion. 

To watch the debate live (or later), go to Live and archived webcasts from the Legislature.

Go here to sign Open the Doors petition to restore public funding for Adult Basic Education.

LFA AGM and Retiree Social, Thursday May 7

The LFA Annual General Meeting and Retiree Social will be held on Thursday, May 7, 2015. Please plan to attend!

The AGM starts at 1:00 pm in Lecture Theatre A136B. The AGM Package (pdf, 9 pages) includes the agenda, draft minutes of the 2014 AGM, President's report and Committee reports. The auditor's report and proposed 2015/16 budget are included in the AGM packages circulated in print. On April 30, a Review of LFA Constitution and By-laws motion was added to the agenda.

The Retiree Social will be held in the Employee Lounge and refreshments will be served. The Reception starts at 2:30 pm and Presentations at 3:00 pm.

Spring 2015 Board Elections

The schedule for 2015 LFA Board elections is now posted in full. It includes dates for nominations, campaign notes, balloting and counts for all Board positions.

April 28 update: the following faculty have been elected to the 2015-2016 LFA Board of Directors: Noel Currie, Alison Curtis, Darrell Kean, Cheryl McKeeman, Stephen Phillips, Jessie Smith, and Paul Sunga. Thanks to all faculty who ran for election.