Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion - General Members Meeting March 5

All faculty are invited to attend a virtual General Meeting of Members on Friday, March 5th at 1:30pm. The purpose of the meeting is to discuss work the LFA Board has been doing and to vote on a motion to draw funds in support of an external consultation regarding Justice, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (JEDI) within the LFA.

The motion and background details have been distributed electronically to members, along with an invitation to the Zoom meeting. Please contact info@langarafaculty.ca if you did not receive the invitation.

Please note that proxy votes are allowed for in the LFA's Constitution. In order to be able to vote by proxy, it is required that the reason for missing the meeting is related to your work at Langara or because of vacation. Faculty in attendance at a meeting cannot hold more than one proxy vote. To vote by proxy, please send an email to scott.mclean@langarafaculty.ca or smclean@langara.ca explaining that you are not able to attend because of a conflict your work at Langara or because you are on vacation and including the name of the Faculty member that you are giving your proxy vote over to. You will get a reply; please note that the proxy needs to be approved prior to the meeting.

This is an important issue for the membership to discuss, and we hope to see you there!

In solidarity,

The LFA Board (Tanya Lewis, Darrell Kean, Colin Mills, Janet Douglas, Catherine Huth, Alison Curtis, Paul Prosperi, Annie Jensen, and Scott McLean)

FPSE Decolonization, Reconciliation and Indigenization Committee Report Spring 2021

 

The Federation of Post-Secondary Educators (FPSE) Standing Committees meet at least twice a year in Vancouver, normally in the fall and spring. Read more to see the spring 2021 Decolonization, Indigenization and Reconciliation Committee (DRISC) Report from our LFA rep Justin Wilson.

 

LFA Board Elections & AGM - Important Dates for 2021

LFA Board - Schedule for 2021 Elections

President
Nominations  March 8 (Mon) to March 12 (Fri)
Campaign Notes Due March 17 (Wed)
Ballots out March 18 (Mon)
Ballots in by 3:30 p.m. March 24 (Wed), Counted: March 24 (Wed)

Vice-President
Nominations March 25 (Thurs) – March 31 (Wed)
Campaign Notes Due April 7 (Wed)
Ballots out April 8 (Thurs)
Ballots in by 3:30 p.m. April 14 (Wed), Counted: April 14 (Wed)

Board Members
Nominations April 12 (Mon) - April 16 (Fri)
Campaign Notes Due April 21 (Wed)
Ballots out April 22 (Thurs)
Ballots in by 3:30 p.m. April 28 (Wed), Counted: April 28 (Wed)

 

Save the date! Virtual AGM Friday May 14
Stay tuned for details.